I grew up with “neat”

My blog was nominated for an award!
It’s the Really Neat Blog Award.
blog-award
So either I’m really good at keep this place in order or the blog is an old-fashioned kind of cool.

I recall “neat” being a big part of my vocabulary when I was young — and believe me it had nothing to do with tidy. These days, when neat pops out of my mouth in exclamation I get odd looks as though I’m being insincere or just climbed back to the surface from a bomb shelter. (Even Grammarly has it underlined right now and is insisting I mean meat. But no! This is a vegetarian post.)

But I digress.

I think it’s neat that I was nominated. Thank you skyllairae! Your blog is far neater than mine and everyone should go look at it now: EAT ME! It may just make you taller.

How to be Neat too:

  1. Put the award logo on your blog.
    2. Thank the person who nominated you, linking to their blog.
    3. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
    4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
    5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog, etc.)

  2. What word best describes you?
    Sorceress!
    O wait, no. Dreamer.

  3. What is your greatest fear?
    Dangling from a helicopter in flight by one hand that is slowly losing its grip. I actually have a recurring nightmare about similar situations and every time I see it in a movie my stomach clenches. I also have a fear of being swarmed by cockroaches and Palmetto bugs, but luckily I don’t dream about that. [shudder]

  4. Why do you have a blog?
    I have a blog because I love to hear myself type. The clacking is quite soothing. I do no understand people who want whisper touch keyboards.
    Oh, and because I’m a writer and I want people to read my stuff and then pet me afterward.

  5. What is your favorite quote?
    O! I just found this recently. It is perfect.
    “The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” Jack Kerouac
    He uses spider in metaphor, abuses a plethora of commas, and I am always drawn to intense people. This quote is me all over.

  6. Compose a quote about writing or the power of words:
    I cannot. But I can talk about the power of singing words on the memory.
    I learned these when I was seven or so (Googled for spelling): Treguna, Mekoides, Trecorum, Satis, Dee
    Even now they are marching through my brain. That’s pretty powerful.

  7. What is your favorite thing to write? Short story, poem, novel, do you like to break boundaries with experimental writing? Tell me about it.
    My brain has trouble with keeping a story to a few basic, entertaining facts. I’m a novel person, but I do not have the discipline to finish writing them. I keep trying though.

  8. How and when did you realize that writing was important to you?
    I’ve been making up stories to entertain myself since I was six-years-old and my mom used to put me to bed really early with explicit instructions not to move or get out of bed. I’d lay around bored for a really long time and get yelled at from down the hall for tossing & turning. Then one day I started imagining something out of sheer boredom – kind of like brain doodling with events – and within the week an internal world was born. I didn’t start writing stories down until school assignments required it. And it would be decades before it occurred to me that being a writer was a thing, even though I was an avid reader of books. Writing solidified as something grown up and meaningful in 2005 and I have been seeking ways to improve it and exercise it ever since.

I nominate:
Margo Roby: Wordgathering
Because she makes me think.

Vampire Maman
Because she’s hilarious.

Only 100 Words
Because writing a story in 100 words is hard.

One Lazy Robot
Because I love robots, lazy or not (and he shares excellent information).

Those were skyllairae’s questions of me. The following are the questions my nominees should answer:

  1. Are you a cat person or a dog person?

  2. What is your greatest fear?

  3. Would you rather be buried or cremated?

  4. What is your favorite literary work?

  5. You are a character in a book you have read. Describe yourself, but don’t tell us who you are specifically:

  6. What is your favorite thing to write? Short story, poem, novel, do you like to break boundaries with experimental writing? Tell me about it.

  7. Is there a book or movie concept that you related to so much you felt like you should have thought of it first?

2 thoughts on “I grew up with “neat”

  1. Pingback: Six Months On (Observations, Blog Awards, Thank Yous) | Only 100 Words

Talk to me

